Stepping Off the Edge

Stepping Off the Edge: Learning & Living Spiritual PracticeStepping Off the Edge: Learning & Living Spiritual Practice by Sandy Nathan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This reads almost like two books in one. The beginning is much like a spiritual self-help book. Although there are some personal details in the beginning, I felt the writing had a bit of distance to it, plus it included exercises to take you away from the reading and attempt to get you jumpstarted on your own path. A few chapters in, there is a dramatic shift and this book becomes deeply personal. It morphs into a spiritual memoir, a description of an awakening period in her life.

As such, it is an amazing read. I found it difficult to put down except to ponder the inevitable “aha” moment. More than once, Ms Nathan reminded me of truths I should know, consciously did know, and did not actually think to apply to my own life circumstances until I read her version of it. For that alone, the book was worth it to me!

I highly recommend this book, with one small caveat. The resource portion of the book is of limited usefulness. There are quite a few interesting and informative books listed. However, when she writes that there is more information on her web page, steppingofftheedge.com, it is misleading. I found only an ad for her book and some contact information. The detailed lists she mentions simply are not there. I don’t know if it will eventually be there, or if it was removed for some reason, but I would have loved to peruse them!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

