Stillness

I don’t know about you, but when I am contemplating a change, one of the first things I do is to attempt to let the mind chatter still and I pose my question to myself as I listen inside for this nudge that gives me an answer. It is sort of a thumb’s up or down, a positive or negative feeling. It has helped me find great places to live, and I have to say that I feel I have been amazingly lucky with friends and loves. It works great … when I can get there.

Unfortunately, it’s efficacy is dependant upon me being able to still my mind chatter. That is one of the hardest things for me to do. By nature, I am an analytical type. I am always examining the pieces of my life and evaluating them. This has its good points, but it is also a negative. I don’t always know enough to stop. I truly believe that it is important to let the mystery be, or it can be destroyed by over-analysis. I also believe that it is important to learn to let go of mind talk at will, because sometimes I just need the silence.

As you might guess from the previous paragraphs, I could really benefit from a clear answer to a question I want to pose that still, small voice. That will be impossible unless I can find the stillness. Meditation gets me to a certain level of stillness, but I am still not getting a clear answer. This does happen occasionally, and when it does, it is always because I am getting in my own way. Somewhere inside, I either have a pre-conceived idea I can’t let go or else I am afraid of the answer. I am not reaching the deep stillness of “no mind.”

So, now I have to backtrack and untangle the threads before I can get a useful answer to my question. I just hate it when I get in my own way!

Leave a Reply

