The Fool’s Way

In the tarot, The Fool is about to set off on a journey. Many versions of the card exist, and quite a few of them show a character about to walk off the edge of a cliff. Some people think the Fool doesn’t know any better. In his innocence, he just doesn’t pay attention well enough to his surroundings and he is just one misstep away from looking the fool!

This is one layer of truth, but what if there was more to it? I have been feeling a strong connection to The Fool for a while now, and I wanted to know more. So, I decided to journey to the energy of The Fool and find out what he brings to me right now. A friend gave me a hand made version of the card for a focus, and what I brought back seemed like it was bigger than me and my life right now. The Fool gave me a monologue and I decided to share it with you in the hopes that you might find something to take away as well:

As I approached The Fool, he reached down and pulled up some grass. Holding it up for me to see, he said, “This isn’t real.” I was still trying to decide if that was a foolish or a deep statement when he reached out and pinched me. As I yelped, he noted, “That isn’t real, either.” With one swipe of his hand encompassing the entire scene before us, he added, “None of this is real. Knowing that is important.

“You are afraid of getting hurt, of falling, because you think you have been here before. I tell you that you have never walked this path, so how can you know you will get hurt? Did others tell you that you would get hurt? They’ve never been here either.

“The path I walk you can’t see … and neither can I. It is not out here where we see a cliff.” Tapping his chest, he continued, “It is in here. To walk, you need to know this space and step when She tells you to step and don’t step if She doesn’t tell you. She is the one who sees the path.”

“The path She sees is the real stuff. Out here, none if it is real, so it doesn’t matter if it looks like smooth ground or a cliff. Doesn’t make it any more real.

“You can do this. You just need to SHIFT….”

5 thoughts on “The Fool’s Way

    • Thanks for the comment, Ann Marie! Listening to the voice of the internal landscape is a big part of the shift we are all experiencing, I think. If we don’t listen, we suffer the consequences. If we do listen, the rewards are indescribable!

  1. Thank you for sharing your powerful message from the Fool. I too tend to see the Fool energy as more wise than foolish – I mean if we truly embrace taking risks and delving into the unknown, are we not channeling the most intuitive depths of our being…that wise all-knowing centre that says it’s all going to me ok.

  2. Thank you for sharing your powerful message from the Fool. I too tend to see the Fool energy as more wise than foolish. I mean if we truly embrace taking risks and delving into the unknown, are we not channeling the most intuitive depths of our being…that wise all-knowing centre that says it’s all going to me ok.

Leave a Reply

