Ch-ch-changes!

 

My daughter meditating at Dun Aengus, Ireland

This past week has seen the beginning – and end – of so many things in my life. I stopped being employed by someone else the Friday before last. I will miss working with the people that have become my friends over the past 3 1/2 years. However, because we have become friends, I have every confidence that the large majority of us will manage to stay in touch thanks to email, social media and (hopefully!) regular get-togethers!

It was an interesting ending filled to the brim with both a great deal of affection and a peacefulness of spirit. I am hopeful that, by letting this go, I am making room for lots of new and wonderful adventures I hope to find coming my way. What kinds of things might those be, you may ask?

I have had a dream for a while of bringing my gifts to the world in the form of my own business. My whole life, I have thought of myself as a teacher, a poet, and a writer. In the last few years, I have gained so much insight into being a more integrated, whole person, and I am convinced that my ability to “walk in two worlds” in just about every aspect of my life is something I can use to advantage. I have decided to bring together the world of meditation and mindfulness and the world of business, to see what happens. I am excited to know that I am far from alone in this dream!

Google actually has mindfulness training for its staff, believe it or not! They see the return on investment for incorporating this into their business practices. Meditation in all its forms is escaping the world of spirit and finding a place in the workaday world. The benefits are huge and not just for CEO’s and upper management. Stress is repeatedly touted as one of the primary reasons people get sick and miss work, and some studies suggest that 75 – 90% of all doctor’s visits are directly linked to complaints and conditions related to stress. Meditation and mindfulness practices include tons of simple techniques anyone can learn to be able to handle stress better. The dynamic is really clear, too: Less stress = Better health. The best part is that you can reap the benefits no matter your faith, no matter your personal belief system and even regardless of whether you believe it will do anything for you or not!

This is so exciting! I am taking my years of experience training people on everything from software usage to shamanic practice and combining it with my business skills in a way that will benefit all of us. Imagine a job where teams meditate together to solve problems, or where mindfulness practice increases both productivity and job satisfaction. I see it coming to be … I really do.

So, I am very excited to be putting together a series of classes designed to bring meditation and mindfulness training into the work world. I believe this can be life changing for people and a profitable strategy for businesses. The icing on the cake is that this gives me an opportunity to change the world, one breath at a time! 🙂

More details coming soon … including how you might be able to win a free class for you and up to 10 of your coworkers! Don’t worry, though. This blog is not going to become focused on my new business (I am putting together a website and a facebook page for that!). Although I am sure meditation topics will come up now and again, the purpose of this page has always been to celebrate spirit through a connection to rocks and trees, along with other facets of nature. I was just so excited about this new adventure that I simply had to post about it here!

I will let you all know when the new site is up and running and I do hope that many of you will join me there as well. In the meantime, I am curious if any of you work for places that already offer this kind of training? If so, what do you see as the best benefits it has brought you?

Leave a Reply

